print     close
Taubman Law


University of Michigan

In 1817 the University of Michigan was the first university established by any of the states. The university was founded in 1817 in Detroit as the Catholepistemiad; the name was changed in 1821.  What would become the university moved to Ann Arbor in 1837 onto 40 acres of what is now known as Central Campus. Since its establishment in Ann Arbor, the university campus has expanded to include more than 584 major buildings with a combined area of more than 34 million square feet.

Michigan State University

Michigan State University has the largest single campus student body of any Michigan university. It is one of the largest universities in the country.  Michigan State was founded in 1855 as the nation's first land-grant university. A federal law called the Morrill Act funded educational institutions by granting federally controlled land to the states for them to sell to raise funds to establish and endow "land-grant" colleges. The mission of these institutions as set forth in the 1862 Act was to focus on the teaching of practical agriculture, science, military science and engineering.  This mission was in contrast to the historic practice of higher education to focus on an abstract liberal arts curriculum.

Taubman Law
32100 Telegraph Road, Suite 200
Bingham Farms, Michigan 48025
phone: 248.792.3399   fax: 248.642.7557
© 2015 by Taubman Law
All rights reserved. Disclaimer